BigTentNews

Final Passage of ESSB 5843 - Now Heads to the Governor’s Desk!

Outdoor Recreation Bill

Final Passage of ESSB 5843 - Now Heads to the Governor’s Desk!
So this bill now goes to the Governor, who is expected to sign it.  Doug will double check on whether there should be some "please sign it" letters or calls, but his sense is we will be in pretty good shape. We will be in touch if we need help with a "please sign it" effort.
 
Folks, this is a pretty momentous bill in that, for the first time ever, there will be someone in the Executive Branch who is focused on nothing but growing and promoting the outdoor recreation sector.  That is a big, big deal.
 
The No Child Left Inside funding, after several years with no funding, is also a very big deal.
 
Several legislators were absolutely key to making this happen, starting with the prime sponsor, Sen. Kevin Ranker (D-San Juan Islands/40th Dist.), who absolutely busted his tail for this bill and deserves major kudos.  So too does the first co-sponsor of the bill, Sen. Linda Parlette (R-Wenatchee/12th Dist.).  Sen. Kirk Pearson (R-Monroe/39th Dist.) also was extremely helpful.  On the House side, Speaker Frank Chopp (D-Seattle/43rd Dist.) played a very helpful role on this bill and Reps. Zack Hudgins (D-Tukwila/11th Dist.) and Joe Fitzgibbon (D-Burien/34th Dist.) were very helpful as well.

If you wish to send a short "thank you" note to each of these key legislators on this bill, their contact information is below as well
 

Getting this one to the Governor is very good stuff, folks! Thank you all for your help in this effort, and we're looking forward to seeing you at the next meeting on May 13th!

Doug Levy and Brittany Jarnot
Outcomes by Levy

------------------------------------------------------

Sen. Kevin Ranker (D-San Juan Islands/40th Dist.) - kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov; kendall.farley@leg.wa.gov
Sen. Linda Parlette (R-Wenatchee/12th Dist.) - linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov; grace.edwards@leg.wa.gov
Sen. Kirk Pearson (R-Monroe/39th Dist.) - kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov; cameron.bailey@leg.wa.gov
Speaker Frank Chopp (D-Seattle/43rd Dist.) - frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov; miranda.leskinen@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Zack Hudgins (D-Tukwila/11th Dist.) - zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov; doug.honma@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon (D-Burien/34th Dist.) - joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov; siobhan.peterson@leg.wa.gov


ESSB 5843
Outdoor recreation
Senate vote on Final Passage as Amended by the House
4/22/2015

Yeas: 38 Nays: 9 Absent: 0 Excused: 2  
Voting Yea: Senator Angel, Baumgartner, Becker, Benton, Billig, Braun, Chase, Cleveland, Conway, Dammeier, Darneille, Fain, Fraser, Frockt, Habib, Hargrove, Hasegawa, Hatfield, Hill, Hobbs, Jayapal, Keiser, King, Kohl-Welles, Litzow, McAuliffe, McCoy, Miloscia, Mullet, Nelson, O'Ban, Parlette, Pearson, Pedersen, Ranker, Rivers, Roach, Warnick

Voting Nay: Senator Bailey, Brown, Dansel, Ericksen, Hewitt, Honeyford, Padden, Schoesler, Sheldon 

Gallery

Comments

Please login or register to post comments.

Print
Tags:

CONNECT WITH US

 

Data Minimize
A state study completed by the Recreation and Conservation Office in January 2015, finds that people in Washington spend nearly $22 billion each year hiking, skiing, boating, golfing, and in other outdoor pursuits.  See Study

 

January 2014 - Outdoor recreation is an economic powerhouse in the United States, each year generating $646 billion in customer spending and 6.1 million direct jobs.  See Study

Archive by Category Minimize